The area of seven springs (now inside the Marionville city limits)
was settled in the 1830's shortly after the Indians were moved out.
The town was incorporated in 1854 having a population of 300, and was named
after James Marion Moore, an early settler.
A teachers college began in the 1870's and was later taken over
by the Methodist Church, but closed as a college in 1924. The Methodists converted
the buildings to a retirement home which still exists today.
From 1880 to 1905, a flour mill operated near the seven springs area on
Mill Street in the east part of town. The city experienced a period of hard times
from 1904 to 1934. Many businesses closed their doors and by 1943 there was not
a doctor, dentist or bank left in town. Before the hard times period, there were acres
of apple trees and strawberries surrounding Marionville, but disease killed most of the
apple trees. Many of the orchards were replanted and several orchards produced
many bushels of apples. Today only one orchard is in production.
A unique feature of Marionville is its white squirrel population which has
attracted visitors to the city. The town also has some fine examples of Victorian
and Four Square architecture which may be seen in some of the older homes.
A more detailed history is available in "Centennial History of Marionville"
(1854-1954) by Lee Collier.